Leave a comment

THE QUANTUM DOOR by Johnathan Ballagh

51E3tOVcTmL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

Amazon.com: The Quantum Door

Disclaimer: I was sent a copy of this book by the author, Johnathan Ballagh, for an honest review

Genre: Young Adult/Fiction/Fantasy/Science Fiction/Adventure

Plot:

Discover what lies beyond the Quantum Door.

The mysterious woods behind Brady and Felix’s house have been deserted for years. But things change when a fence goes up and the brothers notice strange things happening at night. From the moment they dare cross the fence, the brothers enter a world of dark technological secrets that will rock the foundation of everything they know to be true. And once they enter, there’s no turning back. Some places are better left alone…

Opinion: Ahhh…sweet, sweet satisfaction. Usually, I stay far FAR away from any kind of book that involves sci-fi and quantum physics and such. I’m not a rocket scientist here guys, and I have no problem admitting that I just don’t understand what those black holes and “plasma snatcher do-hickie” things are all about. However if you gave me a book like this every day, I would sign up to be Captain blah-blah-blah of your Star-Trek/Star Wars ship any day of the week! Call me insane, but did I just find space-heaven in some pages?!? I think I did.

The Quantum Door starts out following Brady and his younger brother Felix as they trespass into a property near their house. As Brady and Felix make their way through the property, they happen upon a fiery blue door that a young girl (Nova) and a metal dog (Achilles) appear to come out of. Completely frightened, they turn back home and vow to never go back over the fence. But when Brady is awoken by the metal creature named Achilles in an effort to rescue Nova, Brady and Felix decide to cross into the door to another world. Soon the two experience adventures they had never imagined, and creatures that could only have been thought up in video games and movies. What starts out as harmless adolescent curiosity, soon turns into an adventure that will change their lives forever.

Where to begin?!? This book is bursting at the seams with SO MUCH happening, that it is literally impossible to become bored while reading. The author, Johnathan Ballagh, has done a fantastic job of creating these characters and alternate worlds. The fact that this is his very first book is absolutely astounding, and I cannot wait to see what else he comes up with. The story is highly creative and imaginative, there are an abundance of creatures and machines that the reader becomes introduced to throughout the story. It was almost as if I was watching a movie or television show because the imagery was superb. I found the main characters, Brady and Felix, to be full of innocence and youthful curiosities. Brady, being the eldest, is stuck with the role of being the only father figure left in their family. He is constantly telling his younger brother Felix that they should turn back or that something “isn’t a good idea”. Felix starts out being the braver and more creatively thinking sibling in the beginning of the story, but I liked how they both evolved towards the end where Brady showed his bravery and Felix showed that he is still the younger and vulnerable brother.

The backstory to Nova and Achilles proves to be very developed and unique. I was constantly guessing what her secret was and her motives behind the things that she had been doing. However, I would have loved a little bit more insight to the “Elder Minds” and what their reign of terror had been like and done. I felt like it wasn’t stressed enough WHY they were the bad guys, so I would have liked there to be some more scenarios and events that dealt with them directly. The Artifex creatures were BIZARRE, but AJ just had me infuriated! AJ, or Ajax, is the only “child” of the Artifex creatures; which are robots that have a way too intense obsession with humans. Part of me felt a sadness for AJ as he was forced to be trapped in the body of a child and do everything his “father” or creator had told him to do. But most of the time, I was just wondering what his deal was. Glad I kept an eye on him! Overall, I think this is a GREAT first book for Johnathan Ballagh and I am hoping that there will be another sequel to follow up this great read. This story is suitable and perfect for any age, so get to reading and enjoy!

4 Stars

612B40E9C1CD2F68AD9B9A8097CED4FF

Leave a Reply

